Movies: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

2012122292016594829064_sbig

IT’S HERE! I’ve waited nearly 4 years for this film, and I have high expectations. I’m a die-hard LotR fan, so I know quite a bit about what there is to know. This review should be pretty exciting….I hope. Thanks for reading, Michelle. And all other readers! Leave a comment if you want!

Spirituality:
The movie doesn’t really have any overbearing spiritual elements or tones, excepting the mention of the Necromancer, which I will mention later.

Sex:
This is Tolkien, people! Not even a trace from this Catholic-inspired work.

Language:
Crude jokes aside, there really aren’t any obscenities offensive to american audiences. Bifur mentions that croquet is a good game…with which he makes a crude joke. XP And Ori boasts, using crude british slang for backside to explain how he’ll beat Smaug the dragon.

Drugs/Drinking:
Drinking! And tons of it! This is a world where ale is a man’s best friend. The Dwarves guzzle numerous tankards of all sorts of wine, beer and ale at Bilbo’s house, but once they leave, simple provisions are all they get. Saruman does mention Radagast’s mind being addled by mushrooms, but any fool can see he means literal mushrooms

Violence:
Wow. Tons…orc heads are decapitated, people are slashed, smashed, banged and bruised. One particularly nasty scene involves an orc decapitating a dwarf (off camera), then holding up his head and tossing it. Then Thorin lops off his arm, squirting blood. We see him later with a spiked prosthetic through his stumped arm. Gandalf slices the Great Goblin’s stomach. (OUCH) And Thorin is smashed in the face with a mallet/hammer/mace. I would rate the violence up there with LotR, and some of the facial makeup is actually way better…scrapes, cuts, bruises…Definitely not for under 13…

Misc. other harmful elements:
The Necromancer. I won’t go extensively into this, but there are things that are not biblically correct. Strictly speaking, they used a taboo word. Namely, Radagast says WITCHCRAFT. That kinda freaked me out a little bit when he said it, because never before had I heard that in a LotR movie. Dispute it or not, I happen to think magic doesn’t exist in the books…I’m not quite sure about the movies, but they seem to be sticking to the same basic principles. I will eventually post something on my extensive views on magic, but for right now, just know that Radagast uses elvish which has power in itself in Middle Earth to draw some sort of dark power out of a hedgehog and heal it. Gandalf’s staff and such has magical seeming raiments and abilities, and there are a few enchanted blades.

Decent elements:So many decent elements! Heroism is displayed everywhere! Each dwarf, wizard, or hobbit eventually stands up courageously to defend themselves and their friends or even be willing to sacrifice their lives in order to help their friends. I love all of them. They’re awesome. So many valuable lessons are spoken, I can’t even list them all. But the themes contained include mercy, courage, fellowship, and loyalty.

Buy The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Soundtrack on Amazon.com!

Rating: 5/5
This is one of the best films I’ve ever watched. I don’t say that just because I’m a big fan, (just) but also because I was sincerely wowed by the awesomeness of the film. Definitely 13 and up, though, as the violence is not for the kiddos. Laters!

Leave a Reply

